top of page

Choco Marbled Croissant Bread Pudding with Dried Cherries & Creme Anglaise Sauce

Updated: Aug 8, 2018

I wrote this when I was pregnant with my youngest child.

"I am 37 weeks pregnant, and I have been having some "for real" cravings! I typically try to avoid sugar, but this week I have allowed my cravings to take me to a few places I usually don't venture to. I am into intentional eating, and there are just some things I pass up. However, I found myself eating Ben & Jerry's Strawberry Cheesecake Ice-Cream for the first time in over 20 years. Part of my reasoning for sugar avoidance was the fact that I had a horrific case of candida, but that is all over now, and I am completely healed from it! I can now eat freely."

Chocolate Marbled Croissant Bread Pudding with Dried Cherries & Creme Anglaise Sauce

Saturdays in our home are very intentional. It is a day we focus on our family time, and we UNPLUG as much as possible and rest. We do a lot of pre-made cooking to enjoy mini feasts that day. This Friday I decided I would make a bread pudding. I have an affection for bakery croissants, but every once in a while I will buy some at the grocery store. I bought a box for Saturday to make sandwiches, but then I decided to have some fun with them. If Chocolate Croissant Bread Pudding doesn't sound fun, I don't know what does! I made a semi-sweet and salty, chocolate sauce to marble the pudding. I like plain croissants because they are so buttery and they also are pretty low in sugar compared to most pastries. Since I am a low sugar gal, I limited the chocolate chips in the recipe, but you could add more. Instead of sugar, I used honey and xylitol to sweeten this decadent tasting dish.

The result was a breakfast I would be happy to pay for if I went to a restaurant! It was not too sweet and buttery and "butta" makes everything betta. They also had just the right amount of chocolate that was not overpowering the vanilla or croissants. The best part is that it took me only about 30 minutes to assemble it and put into the refrigerator for the next day's breakfast. I hope you enjoy it is as much as I did. Chocolate Marbled Croissant Bread Pudding with Dried Cherries & Creme Anglaise Sauce. No added sugar. Prep time approx. 30 minutes total.

Chocolate Marbled Croissant Bread Pudding with Dried Cherries & Creme Anglaise Sauce

No added sugar. Prep time approx. 30 minutes total.

Putting it all together 1,2,3.

Cubed Croissants:

Time Approximately: 5

  • 5 croissants (They are a med/small size), I used this brand minus 3 croissants so I could eat some later. You can use the whole box if you would like, but it may change the texture some.)

Preparation 1:

Cut croissants into thirds length wise then cube. Set aside. __________________________________

Custard:

Time Approximately: 5-10 minutes

  • 2 1/2 cups Organic Whole Milk

  • 5 eggs

  • 1/2 cup Honey

  • 1 tb Xylitol (Optional:For sugar-free sweetness add to taste.)

  • 1 Tablespoon Pure Vanilla Extract

Preparation 2:

In a LARGE separate bowl mix all custard ingredients well. Next, add cubed croissants and combine to soak. Set aside. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F if you are going to eat after preparation. ___________________________________

Chocolate Marbling Sauce:

Time Approximately: 5-8 minutes

  • 1/2 cups 60% chocolate chips (You can add more if you NEED it to be SUPER chocolatey)

  • 6 tablespoons butter

  • 1/4 cup of milk

  • 1/4 cup Dried cherries (Optional. You could use raisins)

  • Honey (Optional: add to taste)

  • Pink Himalayan or any course Salt will work. I did about 3-4 turns of a grinder (If you only have table salt add approximately 1/8-1/4 tsp salt)

Preparation 3:

  1. Melt all sauce ingredients over medium-low heat. Stir frequently to avoid scorching. I use a small metal whisk and constantly mix to be careful not to burn the chocolate. The sauce should taste salty, buttery and chocolatey. I did not add extra honey because of my taste preference, but you can.

  2. Once it melted remove from heat and drizzle over Preparation 2/soaked bread. Next, gently fold in chocolate sauce. I like to create a marbled effect. So, I don't entirely combine.

  3. When it appears marbled enough pour into a pan. I used a silicone loaf pan from Ikea. Make sure to spray or coat the pan with a bit of cooking oil to allow the bread pudding to release easily. If you are using a silicone pan cook on a cookie sheet if the pan is flimsy. Bake at 350 degrees F for 30-40 minutes. Bake until the center is no longer jiggly, but set and sliceable.

Out of the oven. I had my husband watching it and it went a little over time. Make sure edges do not burn.

  1. Start making Anglaise sauce while it is baking.

  2. Once out of the oven. Allow to cool for about 15 minutes or more to set up. I used a silicone cooking spatula to slice it and serve.

  3. Ladle Anglaise over the top and serve. Add some whipped cream to make it extra special and serve with tea or coffee.

________________________________

Anglaise Topping Sauce:

Time Approximately: 5-10 minutes 1 cup whole milk

  • 1/2 cup whipping cream

  • 1 tsp Vanilla Extract

  • 4 large egg yolks

  • 1/4 cup of honey (You can add more honey to taste. I added 3 drops of Stevia and 1 tb of Xylitol to keep a lower glycemic level)

PREPARATION

  1. Combine milk, vanilla and cream in heavy medium saucepan. Bring milk mixture to simmer. Remove from heat.

  2. Whisk egg yolks and sweeteners in medium bowl to blend. Gradually whisk hot milk mixture into yolk mixture. Return custard to saucepan. Stir over low heat constantly with a wooden spoon if you have one, until custard thickens and leaves path on back of spoon when finger is drawn across, about 5 minutes (do not boil). Strain sauce into bowl (I only do this if I am serving for guests because it makes it so perfectly creamy). Cover and chill or wait about 20 minutes before serving to allow it to thicken more. (Can be made 1 day ahead.) Note: If it gets lumpy, the strainer sieve will help with this dilemma. If it is too watery. Pour 1/4 cup of milk into a cup and 1 Tb. of Tapioca starch. Mix and then add to your sauce and keep mixing on low heat until you get a thicker consistency.

  3. Serve over pudding. Enjoy!

Do you like bread pudding? Have you ever tried making it with croissants before?

Don't forget to SUBSCRIBE to my page by scrolling to the bottom of the HOME page.

Leave your comment and join the conversation!

Instagram

bottom of page